Support Banning Guns in the Capitol

The Michigan State Capitol Commission is meeting today at 1 p.m. to consider a ban on open carry firearms in the Capitol. The meeting will be live streamed on the Senate TV at Michigan Senate Stream 1 (

We urge you to contact members of the committee by telephone or email to let them know you support banning guns in the Capitol. The list is below and also on the state website Michigan State Capitol Contact Commission.

The League’s Statement of Position on Gun Policy, as adopted by 1990 Convention and amended by the 1994 and 1998 Conventions:

The League of Women Voters of the United States believes that the proliferation of handguns and semiautomatic assault weapons in the United States is a major health and safety threat to its citizens. The League supports regulating firearms for consumer safety.

Michigan State Capitol Commission Members:
Gary Randall (Chair)
Clerk of the House State Capitol, Room H-70
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 373-0135

John Truscott (Vice-Chair)
President, Truscott Rossman
124 W. Allegan, Suite 800
Lansing, MI 48933
(517) 487-9320


Kerry Chartkoff
Capitol Historian Emeritus

William C.

Margaret O’Brien
Secretary of the Senate
State Capitol, Room S-5
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 373-2400
LWVMI Leadership 2019-2021
LWVMI Leadership 2019-2021:
Christina Schlitt (Grand Traverse Area) – President                        
Paula Manley (Kalamazoo) – Vice Pres. Membership        
Betsy Cushman (Dearborn/Dearborn Heights) – Vice Pres. Voter Services Sue Smith (Ann Arbor) – Vice Pres. for Advocacy               
Paula Bowman (NW Wayne County) – Vice Pres. for Program       
Denise Hartsough (Kalamazoo) – Treasurer                                           
Leah Bectel (Kalamazoo/Grand Rapids Geo) – Secretary 
Darlene Allen (Marquette County) – Director-at-Large  
Deborah Bunkley (Detroit) – Voter Services Director
Megan Chenoweth (Northwest Wayne County) – Voter Services Director
Vicki Granger (Grosse Pointe) – Communications Director
Ken Manley (Kalamazoo) – Development Director
Tera Moon (Oakland) – Membership/Leadership Director
Maria Rivera (Macomb State MAL) – Director-at-Large